December 6

My Science Unit: Sound

Introduction

Hi, I’m back! Today I will be talking about my second science unit sound. My focus’s are:

  • What is sound
  • What are the four properties of sound
  • What are vibration
  • An experiment I did on tuning fork/salt/water
  • How I made my Kazoo and how does a ear work
  • What is pitch?

Now lets get started

My Kazoo

I used

  1. toilet paper roll
  2. tissue paper
  3. elastic bands

First I put the tissue paper over the toilet paper roll. I used the elastic bands to attach the tissue paper on to the toilet paper roll. Easy!

Now attaching to the subject vibration. Vibration is when something moves back and forth over and over again. Press your hand to your throat, say something. What do you feel? You feel vibration. Did you know when you talk your throat is vibrating. How cool!

Questions

I got asked a bunch of questions here is a video of the questions I got asked

 

What Are The 4 Properties Of Sound

  1. Sound travels through air
  2. Sound can be reflected which means it bounces off of things
  3. Sound can be absorbed which means it does not bounce off of things
  4. Sound can be modified ( it means pitches and loudness)
  5. Sound is caused by  vibration

 

How Does An Ear Work?

Human ear cutaway diagram. Anatomy illustration. Human ear cutaway diagram; anatomy illustration. Ear Stock Photo

In our middle ear there is an eardrum, when you hear something the eardrum vibrates back and forth moving the Auditory bones. Then the bones send the vibration into the little thing after the auditory bones called the cochlea. The cochlea is filled with liquid and lined with thousands of tiny ear hair. When the sound hits it vibrates and the water moves and makes the little ear hair move back and forth. The hair are joined with nerves that send signals to your brain. How cool is that!

I made a video; check it out:

What is an echos?

I recorded a video; Check it out!

What Is Vibration?

I recorded a video; Check it out!

The Tuning Fork Experiment And How Does Sound Travel?

 

How does sound travel? Sound travels in sound waves that look like this:

I made a video; Check it out!

 

Pitch And Volume

What is pitch? What is volume? There are different kinds of pitch:

  • Higher Pitch = higher pitch is the loudest pitch the hardest one to hear.
  • Lower Pitch = Not as high
  • Softer Volume = Getting into volume just like whispering
  • Louder volume = Regular voice

What Is Sound

I made a video; check it out!

My Reflection

I like science so far because I like all the experiments and learning about new things! I want to approve of finishing the experiments on time!! I can’t wait to learn more!!!!!!!!!!!

Bye guys write to you soon!


Posted December 6, 2022 by starielle in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “My Science Unit: Sound

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*